Research Guide for Urban Studies and Planning
Print View

Emily Ford

Urban & Public Affairs Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-3689
forder@pdx.edu

Researching in Urban Studies and Planning

Find
Articles
Books/Book Chapters
Demographics/Data
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
GIS/Data
Government Information
Legal Resources
Nonprofit Sector
Videos
Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Architecture
Environmental Sciences & Resources
Geography
Public Administration
Sociology

Government Information


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
TRID (Transportation Research Board database)
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. TRID combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.  More Info...

US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...

US Department of Housing and Urban Development. HUD User.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.  More Info...

GPO Catalog of Government Publications (OCLC FirstSearch Version)
Commercial version of the monthly catalog of U.S. government documents. Includes direct links to some library catalog and PSU-only resources. coverage 1976-one month ago.  More Info...

GPO Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
Free version of the CGP, the primary finding tool for Federal Depository Library publications including descriptive records for historical and current documents with links to full text when available. Also known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT). Updated daily.   More Info...

CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly.  More Info...


Related Resources
Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...

NBER Working Paper Series
Full text access to PDF working papers by the National Bureau of Economics Research programs.  More Info...

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services  More Info...

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
US Department of Agriculture. Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS).
The system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data. Many of the current titles are available via email subscription.  More Info...

US Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.  More Info...

US Department of the Interior. Geo.data.gov (Geospatial One-Stop)
Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative.   More Info...

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Free bibliographic search of millions of technical publications from the US Government. Find a citation or report number, and use these other tools to find full text options.   View a Tutorial for this Resource | More Info...

National Agricultural Statistics Service
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture-production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.  More Info...



Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter