|
|
GIS/Data
Geography is information about the earth's surface and the objects found on it, as well as a framework for organizing knowledge. Geographic Information Systems (GIS) is a technology that manages, analyzes, and disseminates geographic knowledge. A Geographic Information System makes it possible to link, or integrate, information that is difficult to associate through any other means. The following resources should provide general information about GIS, as well as how to collect data to use with the technology.
Electronic Resources
| Core Resources |
US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. More Info...
US Department of Housing and Urban Development. HUD User.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population. More Info...
US Department of the Interior. Geo.data.gov (Geospatial One-Stop)
Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative.
More Info...
CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly. More Info...
ULI Development Case Studies
Case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Resource limited to 3 concurrent users. Please close your browser when finished. More Info...
|
| Related Resources |
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology. More Info...
Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more. More Info...
|
Data Sources
American FactFinder
Use this government website to obtain population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC site provides a variety of health data on a national and state level.
Clackamas County - GIS
GIS information specific to Clackamas County, Oregon. Use CMap, the county's interactive internet map viewer, to create maps with data layers about services, jurisdictions, zoning, and more.
Multnomah County - GIS
GIS information specific to Multnomah County, Oregon. Includes demographic profiles, and highlights special projects which demonstrate how Multnomah County GIS has been used within various county departments.
Additional Websites
GIS.com
A resource guide provided by the developers of the product, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI). This site provides glossories, directories and career information about GIS. A good place to start to learn more about the product.
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Comprehensive online dictionary developed by the Earth Sciences & Map Library at UC Berkeley.
USGS-GIS Education Resources
A site sponsored by U.S. Geological Survey's Education and Communications Program. Provides lessons, tools, and guidelines for using GIS, with particular emphasis on ArcView and ArcGIS software from ESRI.
|