Research Guide for Urban Studies and Planning
Print View

Emily Ford

Urban & Public Affairs Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-3689
forder@pdx.edu

Researching in Urban Studies and Planning

Find
Articles
Books/Book Chapters
Demographics/Data
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
GIS/Data
Government Information
Legal Resources
Nonprofit Sector
Videos
Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Architecture
Environmental Sciences & Resources
Geography
Public Administration
Sociology

Articles


This list of resources is designed to help you get started with your research in Urban Studies and Planning. Keep in mind that this is an interdisciplinary topic which includes architecture, environmental science, geography, public administration, and sociology. If your research focuses on any of these areas, you should consult their specific Research Guides. For information about Urban Studies and Planning at Portland State University, see the School of Urban Studies and Planning Web site.

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. As Urban Studies & Planning is an interdisciplinary area, what databases and indexes you use will depend on your particular topic. For example, social issues might be addressed in Social Work Abstracts or Sociological Abstracts. Topics related to the history of urban planning might be found in America History and Life. The following list is just a selection of the databases that might be relevant, and you may find additional databases to be of use to you.

 

Oregon Sustainability Center:



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.  More Info...

Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Citations and abstracts of the environmental, ecology, and water resources literature.  More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.  More Info...

TRID (Transportation Research Board database)
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. TRID combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.  More Info...

Urban Studies, Sage Full Text
Full text articles from Sage Press journals in urban studies and public policy topics  More Info...

ULI Development Case Studies
Case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Resource limited to 3 concurrent users. Please close your browser when finished.   More Info...


Related Resources
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...

Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to scholarly articles on all aspects of business, management, company profiles, and country information.  More Info...

CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly.  More Info...

CQ Library
Contains full text of CQ Researcher reports, CQ Weekly (bills and legislative actions)as well as reference works on politics, commerce, and the U.S. Congress.  More Info...

CQ Researcher
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.  More Info...

Daily Journal of Commerce
Covers construction news, real estate, urban planning, energy, and transportation news for the greater Portland, Oregon metro area.  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...

Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
Full text from of the Economist, the British weekly newspaper focusing on business, international events and opinion.  More Info...

Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS)
Online full text compendium of twenty UNESCO-published disciplinary encyclopedias concerned with all aspects of sustainability.   More Info...

Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is a statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Energy. Our mission is to provide policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.  More Info...

Geobase
Citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature of geography, geology, ecology, and international development.  More Info...

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...

Regional Business News
Full text articles from local business publications in the US.  More Info...

ReferenceUSA
Profiles on companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations and government agencies.  More Info...

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Films On Demand

Extensive collection of streaming video of educational films and video segments in the Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; Health & Medicine; Technical Education; Family & Consumer Sciences; Careers & Job Search and Guidance & Counseling. Click on the "CC" icon on the right side of the player to view captions.  More Info...

JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

New York Times
New York Times (Final NYC Edition) full text articles via Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...



 

Full-Text Electronic Journals

The list below is a selection of online journals that focus on the topic of Urban Studies and Planning. Only those journals for which we have an ongoing subscription are listed; older issues of other titles can be found by searching ViKAT. It is important to remember that articles related to Urban Studies and Planning topics may be found in the literature of other disciplines. For example, if your research focuses on transportation planning, you should explore journals specifically related to that field. Our collection includes journals that are available in print, print and online, and online only. The online journals require authentication for off-campus use. Only the most current online subscription is linked. Check Full Text Sources to determine the complete extent of our online subscriptions.

Environments

Full text 1987-
Housing Studies


Full text 1994-; Full-text 1986-
International Planning Studies


Full text 1996-
Journal of Urban Planning and Development


Full text 1993-
Regional Studies


Full text December 1998-
Urban Affairs Review


Full text September 1965-
Urban Studies


Full text 1964-

 

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter