Research Guide for Urban Studies and Planning
Print View

Emily Ford

Urban & Public Affairs Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-3689
forder@pdx.edu

Researching in Urban Studies and Planning

Find
Articles
Books/Book Chapters
Demographics/Data
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
GIS/Data
Government Information
Legal Resources
Nonprofit Sector
Videos
Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Architecture
Environmental Sciences & Resources
Geography
Public Administration
Sociology

Web Resources


Greater Portland : urban life and landscape in the Pacific Northwest
F884 .P85 A23 2001 | Basement

Newsletter / 1000 Friends of Oregon
HD211.O7 O5a | Basement

The Portland edge : challenges and successes in growing communities
HT394.P8 P67 2004 | 2nd Floor Reference
**Edited book with contributions by PSU Urban Studies Faculty

Re-presenting the post-industrial neighborhood : planning and redevelopment in Portland's Pearl District
LD4349 .A86 1999.J66 | 3rd Floor

Metro
"Metro protects open space and parks, plans for land use and transportation, and manages garbage disposal and recycling for 1.3 million residents in three counties and 25 cities in the Portland, Oregon region."

Neighborhood Notes.  

"Neighborhood Notes publishes community-focused news, commentary and events. Whether it's what's happening on your block, your neighborhood or the entire city—Neighborhood Notes serves up Portland how you like it."

Portland State University Campus Maps/Building Floor Plans
Maintained by PSU Architectural, Engineering and Construction Services, this resource provides general campus maps, university district maps, and detailed individual building maps. Pages dedicated to each building include floor area calculations, building schematics, and information about wheelchair accessibility.

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library (OSCDL)
Provides a central online repository for the collection, accession, and dissemination of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area.

City of Portland Sites

Office of Sustainable Development
A comprehensive site providing Portland-area sustainability resources.

PortlandMaps.com
Includes aerial photography and zoning maps for the Portland Metropolitan area. Find local census data, assessor/tax lot information, crime data, elevation, parks, mass transit, schools, urban growth boundary, water/sewer information.

Portland Parks & Recreation
Site includes city planning information specific to Portland.

Portland Transportation
City of Portland Office of Transportation site includes policies, regulations, studies, plans, reports, and information about future projects.

City of Portland Archives and Records Management Search the database for key documents located in the archives.  The archives will be locating to the Portland State University Campus in 2010.

Local County Resources (Oregon)

Clackamas County Department of Transportation & Planning
Provides information about long-range planning for the county, as well as various projects and studies being conducted.

Multnomah County Library - Maps/GIS
This county library site provides an extensive list of links related to local resources, GIS, and maps.

Washington County Land Use and Transportation
Provides information on long-range, capital improvement, and immediate traffice concerns.

State Resources

Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development
Provides information about the state's Transportation and Growth Management Program, and includes state-wide planning goals.

Oregon Sustainability Resource
"The Sustainable Oregon website, inspired by the Sustainability Executive Order of 2000, is a project of the Oregon Economic & Community Development Department with support from the Governor's Office, the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, Ecotrust, and Sustainable Northwest." A searchable website that includes topics such as general sustainability, land use planning, land management and transportation. Also provides specific case study examples.

Additional Web Resources

American Planning Association (APA)
"APA is a nonprofit public interest and research organization committed to urban, suburban, regional, and rural planning." The APA also offers a web bibliography of core readings called The Planners Bibliography.

Cyburbia: The urban planning portal
Established in 1994 at the University of Buffalo, this site contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism.

Urban Land Institute
The Urban Land Institute (ULI)is an international non-profit organization that promotes best practices in land use and the real estate industry.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
Comprehensive government site that includes information about housing, community grants, community information organized by state, consumer information, among other topics.

Planetizen: The Planning and Development Network
Planetizen is a public-interest information exchange provided by Urban Insight for the urban planning, design, and development community.

The International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP) is a global association of experienced professional planners. It was founded in 1965 in a bid to bring together recognised and highly-qualified planners in an international network. The ISOCARP network brings together individual and institutional members from more than 80 countries worldwide.

 

Joint Center for Housing Studies 

The Joint Center for Housing Studies is Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. The Joint Center analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends.

KnowledgePlex 

The affordable housing and community development resource for professionals.

H-Urban

is a moderated, multi-disciplinary forum for discussion and dissemination of scholarship on urban history and urban studies. As a member of H-NET (Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine), H-Urban has no geographical or chronological boundaries. Thus, we welcome the involvement of scholars, professionals, and graduate students who are interested in urban places and processes across the globe and in all eras.

Urban Institute

The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

Transport Research Knowledge Centre

Research is essential if Europe is to develop efficient, sustainable and user-friendly transport systems. Transport practitioners and policy-makers alike require a solid research basis to come to decisions. Making this research widely available - across borders and across sectors - can help speed up decisions and ensure they are taken on as wide a basis as possible. It can cut the time required to turn research into actual market applications.

Earth Trends 

Much of the environmental information on the internet is fragmented, buried, or only available at a price. EarthTrends gathers data from the world’s leading statistical agencies, along with WRI-generated maps and analyses, into a single database for rapid searching and retrieving. To facilitate the comparison of data from different sources, EarthTrends supplements its content with detailed metadata that reports on research methodologies and evaluates the information’s reliability. All of these resources are made available to the public at no charge.

Ecosustainable Hub

To make an active contribution towards the improvement of the quality of life for ourselves and future generations, facilitating co-operation, networking, ethical practices and developments. "Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs." (Brundtland commission)

Sustainable Cities Research Institute 

Committed to developing effective, integrated and interdisciplinary approaches to urban sustainability and urban regeneration through high quality research, publications and the public dissemination of knowledge.

United Nations Human Settlements Programme

The United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-HABITAT, is the United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.




Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter