Research Guide for Urban Studies and Planning
Standard View

Articles


This list of resources is designed to help you get started with your research in Urban Studies and Planning. Keep in mind that this is an interdisciplinary topic which includes architecture, environmental science, geography, public administration, and sociology. If your research focuses on any of these areas, you should consult their specific Research Guides. For information about Urban Studies and Planning at Portland State University, see the School of Urban Studies and Planning Web site.

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your topic. As Urban Studies & Planning is an interdisciplinary area, what databases and indexes you use will depend on your particular topic. For example, social issues might be addressed in Social Work Abstracts or Sociological Abstracts. Topics related to the history of urban planning might be found in America History and Life. The following list is just a selection of the databases that might be relevant, and you may find additional databases to be of use to you.

 

Oregon Sustainability Center:



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.  More Info...

Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Citations and abstracts of the environmental, ecology, and water resources literature.  More Info...

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.  More Info...

TRID (Transportation Research Board database)
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. TRID combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.  More Info...

Urban Studies, Sage Full Text
Full text articles from Sage Press journals in urban studies and public policy topics  More Info...

ULI Development Case Studies
Case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Resource limited to 3 concurrent users. Please close your browser when finished.   More Info...


Related Resources
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences.  More Info...

Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to scholarly articles on all aspects of business, management, company profiles, and country information.  More Info...

CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly.  More Info...

CQ Library
Contains full text of CQ Researcher reports, CQ Weekly (bills and legislative actions)as well as reference works on politics, commerce, and the U.S. Congress.  More Info...

CQ Researcher
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.  More Info...

Daily Journal of Commerce
Covers construction news, real estate, urban planning, energy, and transportation news for the greater Portland, Oregon metro area.  More Info...

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.  More Info...

Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
Full text from of the Economist, the British weekly newspaper focusing on business, international events and opinion.  More Info...

Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS)
Online full text compendium of twenty UNESCO-published disciplinary encyclopedias concerned with all aspects of sustainability.   More Info...

Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is a statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Energy. Our mission is to provide policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.  More Info...

Geobase
Citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature of geography, geology, ecology, and international development.  More Info...

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...

Regional Business News
Full text articles from local business publications in the US.  More Info...

ReferenceUSA
Profiles on companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations and government agencies.  More Info...

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Films On Demand

Extensive collection of streaming video of educational films and video segments in the Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; Health & Medicine; Technical Education; Family & Consumer Sciences; Careers & Job Search and Guidance & Counseling. Click on the "CC" icon on the right side of the player to view captions.  More Info...

JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

New York Times
New York Times (Final NYC Edition) full text articles via Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...


 

Full-Text Electronic Journals

The list below is a selection of online journals that focus on the topic of Urban Studies and Planning. Only those journals for which we have an ongoing subscription are listed; older issues of other titles can be found by searching ViKAT. It is important to remember that articles related to Urban Studies and Planning topics may be found in the literature of other disciplines. For example, if your research focuses on transportation planning, you should explore journals specifically related to that field. Our collection includes journals that are available in print, print and online, and online only. The online journals require authentication for off-campus use. Only the most current online subscription is linked. Check Full Text Sources to determine the complete extent of our online subscriptions.

Environments

Full text 1987-
Housing Studies


Full text 1994-; Full-text 1986-
International Planning Studies


Full text 1996-
Journal of Urban Planning and Development


Full text 1993-
Regional Studies


Full text December 1998-
Urban Affairs Review


Full text September 1965-
Urban Studies


Full text 1964-

 



Books/Book Chapters


Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Urban Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk in the library.

Architecture -- Human factors
Architecture and Society
City Planning
Civic Improvement
Community Development -- Urban
Ecological Landscape Design
Gentrification
Land Use -- Planning
Land Use -- Urban
Neighborhood
Planned Communities
Regional Planning
Traffic Engineering
Transportation Engineering

Subjects Headings for the topic of Sprawl

Cities and Towns -- Growth
Streets -- Design and Construction
Suburbs
Sustainable Architecture
Urban Beautification
Urban Ecology
Urban Landscape Architecture
Urban Renewal
Urbanization

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

HE 305-311 | Urban Transportation
HM 756-781 | Community
HN 41-46 | Community centers. Social centers
HT 101-395 | Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology
HT 161-165 | Garden Cities. "The City Beautiful"
HT 165.5-169.9: City Planning
HT 170-178 | City Population
HT 231 | Effect of City Life
HT 321-325 | The City as an Economic Factor. City Promotion
HT 330-334 | Metropolitan Areas
HT 351-352 | Suburban Cities and Towns
HT 361-384 | Urbanization. City and Country
HT 388 | Regional Economics. Space in Economics
HT 390-395 | Regional Planning
NA 1-9428 | Architecture
NA 9000-9048 | Aesthetics of Cities. City Planning and Beautifying

Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand corner of the results screen. This automatically repeats your search in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.



Joint Center for Housing Studies



Demographics/Data


Economic and Business | Education | Health | Immigration | General Population | International | Miscellaneous

Economic and Business Data

EconData.Net
Regional economic activity

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
National, regional, industry data addressing economic growth, economic development, and interindustry relationships

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Labor market activity, working conditions, and other labor changes

U.S. Economic Census
A profile for American business, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau every 5 years
American Fact Finder
 

Oregon Employment Division
Labor force and employment statistics

Education

National Center for Education Statistics

Oregon Department of Education

Health

Center for Disease Control (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics

Oregon Center for Health Statistics
Births, Deaths, and other vital records

Human Development Reports (U.N.)
International health data

World Health Organization (WHO) World health statistics

Immigration

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Immigration statistics

General Population Data

FedStats
Broad access linking Federal agencies and related statistics

National Survey of Families and Households

U.S. Census Bureau

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Migration Data

Population Reference Bureau (PRB) Datafinder

Portland State University (PSU) Population Research Center (PRC) Annual Population Estimates

Oregon Office of Economic Analysis (OEA) Population Forecasts

Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM)
Population estimates, forecasts, and projections

Oregon State University—Rural Communities Explorer

International Data Sources

CIA World Factbook

Eurostat
European economic and demographic statistics

United Nations (UN) Statistics Division

United Nations (UN) Yearbook

Miscellaneous

Data.gov

ChildStats.gov
Child and family statistics for the U.S.

U.S. Military Statistics
Military personnel statistics for the United States

County and City Data Books
Access to County and City Data Books (1944-2000)

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Statistics on all forms of transportation in the United States

General Social Survey (GSS)

Historical Statistics of the United States - Millenial Edition
U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to present.

Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)—University of Michigan

Housing-related data

OECD iLibrary
General statistics and demographic data

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services—Administration on Aging
Life expectancy, health, nursing home, and other statistics





Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Reference resources provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.

Architectural theory and criticism, urban design theory, architectural history
Z5941 .A7 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference

Classics in Planning

Social Planning, volume 1
HN28.S615 2006 | 2nd Floor Reference
Planning Models, volume 2
HT391.P426 2006 | 2nd Floor Reference
Public Facilities Planning, volume 3
HT 391. P83 2006 | 2nd Floor Reference
Regional Planning, volume 4
HT391.R3358 2007 | 2nd Floor Reference

Land Use Planning, volume 6
HD108.6.L367 2006 | 2nd Floor Reference

Transportation Planning, volume 7

Environmental Planning, volume 8

 

 

 

Classics in Transport Analysis

Maritime Transport, volume 1
HE571 .M374 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference
Air Transport, volume 2
HE9762 .A38 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference
Railways, volume 3
HE1031 .R135 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference
Transport Infrastructure, volume 4
HC79.C3 .T73 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference
Transport Logistics, volume 5
HE199.A2 T685 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference
Transport and Information Systems, volume 6
HE151 .T634 2003 | 2nd Floor Reference
The Automobile, volume 7
HE5623 .A68 2003 | 2nd Floor Reference
Urban Transport, volume 8
HE305 .U685 2003 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of community : from the village to the virtual world
HM756 .E53 2003 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of Housing
HD 7287 .E53 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
HT123 .E5 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference

Encyclopedia of Urban Culture
HT 108.5 .E53 2002 (vols. 1-4) | 2nd Floor Reference

Funding sources for community and economic development : a guide to current sources for local programs and projects
HN90 .C6 F85 | 2nd Floor Reference

Handbook of urban studies
HT151 .H318 2001 | 3rd Floor

Information sources in urban and regional planning : a directory and guide to reference materials
Z5942 .D87 1994 | 2nd Floor Reference

The latest illustrated book of development definitions
HT167 .M683 2004 | 2nd Floor Reference

A planner's dictionary
NA9108 .A545 no. 521/522 | 2nd Floor Reference

Transport logistics
HE199.A2 T685 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference





GIS/Data


Geography is information about the earth's surface and the objects found on it, as well as a framework for organizing knowledge. Geographic Information Systems (GIS) is a technology that manages, analyzes, and disseminates geographic knowledge. A Geographic Information System makes it possible to link, or integrate, information that is difficult to associate through any other means. The following resources should provide general information about GIS, as well as how to collect data to use with the technology.


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...

US Department of Housing and Urban Development. HUD User.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.  More Info...

US Department of the Interior. Geo.data.gov (Geospatial One-Stop)
Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative.   More Info...

CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly.  More Info...

ULI Development Case Studies
Case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Resource limited to 3 concurrent users. Please close your browser when finished.   More Info...


Related Resources
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more.   More Info...


Data Sources

American FactFinder
Use this government website to obtain population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC site provides a variety of health data on a national and state level.

Clackamas County - GIS
GIS information specific to Clackamas County, Oregon. Use CMap, the county's interactive internet map viewer, to create maps with data layers about services, jurisdictions, zoning, and more.

Multnomah County - GIS
GIS information specific to Multnomah County, Oregon. Includes demographic profiles, and highlights special projects which demonstrate how Multnomah County GIS has been used within various county departments.

Additional Websites

GIS.com
A resource guide provided by the developers of the product, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI). This site provides glossories, directories and career information about GIS. A good place to start to learn more about the product.

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Comprehensive online dictionary developed by the Earth Sciences & Map Library at UC Berkeley.

USGS-GIS Education Resources
A site sponsored by U.S. Geological Survey's Education and Communications Program. Provides lessons, tools, and guidelines for using GIS, with particular emphasis on ArcView and ArcGIS software from ESRI.



Government Information


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
TRID (Transportation Research Board database)
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. TRID combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.  More Info...

US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...

US Department of Housing and Urban Development. HUD User.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.  More Info...

GPO Catalog of Government Publications (OCLC FirstSearch Version)
Commercial version of the monthly catalog of U.S. government documents. Includes direct links to some library catalog and PSU-only resources. coverage 1976-one month ago.  More Info...

GPO Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
Free version of the CGP, the primary finding tool for Federal Depository Library publications including descriptive records for historical and current documents with links to full text when available. Also known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT). Updated daily.   More Info...

CenStats
Includes building permits data that is updated monthly.  More Info...


Related Resources
Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.  More Info...

National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.  More Info...

NBER Working Paper Series
Full text access to PDF working papers by the National Bureau of Economics Research programs.  More Info...

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services  More Info...

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library
The Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library is a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. It includes literature, planning reports, digital images, maps, RLIS (Regional Land Information System) geographical data, and more.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
US Department of Agriculture. Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS).
The system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data. Many of the current titles are available via email subscription.  More Info...

US Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.  More Info...

US Department of the Interior. Geo.data.gov (Geospatial One-Stop)
Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative.   More Info...

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Free bibliographic search of millions of technical publications from the US Government. Find a citation or report number, and use these other tools to find full text options.   View a Tutorial for this Resource | More Info...

National Agricultural Statistics Service
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture-production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.  More Info...




Legal Resources


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Legal Collection
Full-text scholarly articles covering all areas of law.  More Info...


Related Resources
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...




Nonprofit Sector


Tips and Helpful Hints for Students and Community Members Doing Research in the Nonprofit Sector

This guide was originally published as a print guide titled Nonprofit Research and Resources Guide: Tips and Helpful Hints for Students and Community Members Doing Research in the Nonprofit Sector. It was written by Carrie Munn, a graduate of PSU's Institute for Nonprofit Managment in June of 2001. It has been updated and revised from its original form, and serves the purpose of guiding students at PSU's Institute for Nonprofit Management in doing library research.

The following librarians will be helpful for most nonprofit research projects:

  • Emily Ford, Temporary Reference Librarian and Information Consultant to the College of Urban and Public Affairs, forder@pdx.edu, 503-725-3689
  • Kerry Wu, Reference Librarian for Business Administration and Economics, wuq@pdx.edu, 503-725-4124
  • Claudia Weston, Government Information Librarian, westonc@pdx.edu, 503-725-4542
  • A complete list of all PSU subject librarians and contact information

The Institute of Nonprofit Management (INPM) has resided at Portland State University since 1996. Many of the resources that INPM/Masters of Public Administration (MPA) students need are not directly available at the library. However, with a little effort, much of the research in existence can be accessed. When in doubt about where to look or frustrated about dead ends, contact the librarians.



Introduction

The phrase "Nonprofit Sector" brings to mind many things for many different people. There are differences of opinion on how to refer to the field even among those who work in nonprofits or non-governmental organizations (NGOs), as they are known outside of the United States. One may hear nonprofits collectively referred to as the "Third Sector," meaning organizations that fall outside of business or government. With a long history of volunteerism, the name "Voluntary Sector" is also used to refer to these organizations.

Categorized by their tax status, nonprofits share similarity in the U.S. of being organized as corporations under chapter 501 of the Internal Revenue Service codes. Such organizations are tax-exempt, or pay no income taxes on revenues earned in pursuit of the organization's mission. Among the tax-exempt organizations, the majority of people recognize the public serving 501(c)(3) organizations as nonprofits, because 501(c)(3) organizations are deemed to be "charitable" and the tax code allows donors to deduct contributions from their Federal income taxes.

The IRS acknowledges six charitable purposes or missions for which it will grant 501(c)(3) status. To achieve this special status, the organization must operate exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or educational purposes. Social service, cultural, advocacy, self-help, health, environmental, civil rights, and welfare organizations are all typically approved by the IRS as meeting the definition of the exempt purposes and granted 501(c)(3) status.

By now you may be asking, what does any of this have to do with conducting research? The diverse nature of the sector and its recent emergence as a distinct field of study at colleges and universities presents unique challenges in the research process. The two greatest of these challenges arise from the diversity of content and lack of comprehensive research tools. As noted more fully in this guide's section listing potential search terms, information relevant to the nonprofit sector can be found under headings ranging from education to business, social science to government documents, fundraising to law, and history to psychology. The depth and breadth of pertinent information categorized under other long established fields of study can be mindboggling at times. This situation is only beginning to be remedied by concerted efforts within the nonprofit sector to catalog and organize research and information crucial to building the developing identity of the nonprofit sector as a field of study. So, while students can easily find information in indexes of Sociological Abstracts and Political Science, or look up full-text articles on business management issues through the Business Source Premier database, no such comprehensive tools are available to students of the nonprofit sector. This guide is an attempt to catalog the locations of resources and tools to reduce the time students, nonprofit practitioners, and others spend searching for information. My hope is that students in particular will spend more time reading, analyzing, writing, and synthesizing information to build the knowledge and wisdom of the nonprofit sector and strengthen the sector's role in civil society.

Go to top of page


Selected Nonprofit Electronic Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in Nonprofit studies are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

Board Leadership: a Bimonthly Workshop Electronic Copy available for years 2000-

The Chronicle of Philanthropy Location: PSU Shelves HV85 .C525. Electronic Copy available for years 2000-

Fund Raising Management Electronic Copy available for years 1993-

International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing Electronic Copy available for years 2001-

New Directions for Philanthropic Fundraising Electronic Copy available for years 1998-

Nonprofit Management & Leadership Location: PSU Shelves HD 62.6 .N663. Electronic Copy available for years 1998-

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly Electronic Copy available for years 1972-

Nonprofit World Electronic Copy available for years 1983-

Voluntas : International Journal of Voluntary and Non-profit Organizations Electronic Copy available for years 1988-

Go to top of page


Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, education, and current affairs.

Business Source Premier
Citations and some full text (approximately one third to one half of publications from dates beginning in the mid 1990's) from business and management periodicals, trade/industry journals, scholarly journals, local area titles, popular business magazines and newspapers; on topics including: finance, acquisitions and mergers, international trade, money management, new technologies and products, local and regional business trends, investments and banking. Coverage: 1980 to present.

Congressional Universe
Web access to Congressional Information. Indexes and abstracts Congressional publications since 1970. Includesfull text of the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Bills, and a number of other Congressional publications. Coverage: 1970- present.

CQ Library
Full text of the CQ Researcher (background analysis reports on current issues addressed in the Congress) and CQ Weekly (current legislative news and analysis).CQ Weekly issues are searchable from 1983 to the present.
CQ Researcher reports are available from October, 1991 to the present.

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Provides a variety of full text sources including: regional,national, and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business publications (trade journals, corporate annual reports, tax sources); legal resources (law reviews, court cases, briefs, federal and state codes); government documents; medical information (medical journals); and reference sources (directories, biographical information). Source list.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts covers the academic and professional literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Citations to journal articles published after 1974 include abstracts. Coverage 1963 - the present.

Statistical Universe
Indexing and citations for statistics gathered by governmental agencies and industry organizations. Scope includes international, U.S. and state and local statistics. Links to online sources of U.S. government statistics are included.

Go to top of page


Local Resources

Multnomah County Library
The main branch of the Multnomah County Library has many books and resources useful to INPM students. Collections primarily focus on nonprofit management, fundraising, and proposal writing. The central library has maintained a regional collection for the Foundation Center since 1973. This collection and most other nonprofit management books and non-circulating reference materials are housed in the in Science and Business room on the second floor. The main library is located on SW 10th Avenue between Taylor and Yamhill Streets in downtown Portland.

Nonprofit Resource Center
The Multnomah County Library houses a regional collection for The Foundation Center, a nonprofit organization specializing in the gathering, analysis, and the dissemination of information on philanthropic foundations. The Grants Library includes publications of the Foundation Center, many fundraising related materials, national foundation annual reports, and a small collection of periodicals. The Grants Library is primarily a reference collection. Reference Materials are shelved along the walls behind the reference desk on the second floor of the Science and Business section with call numbers beginning at 361 or in the Grants Library.

Technical Assistance for Community Services (TACS)
Technical Assistance for Community Services is a Portland based nonprofit technical assistance and service provider. TACS can help students with resource and reference information on topical areas related to nonprofit management. They also sponsor many trainings and workshops for nonprofit professionals. These can be found on their website: http://www.tacs.org. Contact TACS by calling their helpline at: 233-9240 in Portland, or 1-888-206-3076 throughout OR, WA and AK, or by sending email to info@tacs.org.

The Black United Fund Resource Library
The Nonprofit Resources Library resides at the Black United Fund of Oregon in northeast Portland, 2828 NE Alberta Street. The library is designed to provide access to resource materials and training on nonprofit management to staff, volunteers and community members in the nonprofit sector. PSU students are welcome to use the library. The Resource Library was made possible by a generous grant from the Meyer Memorial Trust and donations of time and materials by other community members. For questions and information call the Black United Fund at 503-282-7973.

Go to top of page


The Foundation Center

The Foundation Center provides the most valuable collection of nonprofit resources of any single source identified to date. The Center's website, the primary source for this section, presents volumes of well-organized resources and links to other nonprofit information. Among the most useful tools for students, is the Foundation Center's online catalog with abstracts called the Catalog of Nonprofit Literature (formerly the Literature of the Nonprofit Sector, or LNPS). The Catalog contains more than 19,000 full bibliographic citations and of these over 12,000 include descriptive abstracts. Recently updated to include the library of residence for sited materials, a student can conduct highly specialized searches of the catalog and use interlibrary loan services to obtain copies of articles or borrow materials. An Online Librarian is available by email to answer questions about conducting research and using the full potential of the site.

Searches of the Catalog of Nonprofit Literature can be conducted according to author, title, subject, journal title, record type (article, book, CD-rom, pamphlet, sound or video recording), year of publication, keyword, or library location (Atlanta, Cleveland, New York, San Francisco, or Washington, D.C.). For further help or introductory information select from the following options in the drop down menu bar on the Catalog homepage: Contents and Scope, New Acquisitions, How to Search, Locate the Sources Cited In Your Search Results, Periodicals and Guided Tour.

In addition to the Catalog of Nonprofit Literature, the Foundation Center website has valuable information on researching philanthropy such as funding trends, the classification of grants, and statistics. The Virtual Classroom, found under the Learning Lab title bar, contains the following tutorials: Orientation to Grantseeking; Guide to Funding Research; Proposal Writing Short Course, Demystifying the 990-PF; FC Search Guided Tour; Foundation Grants to Individuals Guided Tour.

Go to top of page


Useful Search Terms

Searching for documents can be tricky for those not familiar with the variety of terms used by indexes to categorize information. The nonprofit sector itself is known by many different names (voluntary sector, third sector, etc.) and this profusion of terms continues within nonprofit subject areas. The following categories of search terms offers alternatives that may expand your document search results. For detailed searches, use the bolded, general headings in combination with particular subcategories.

Nonprofit Management & Governance

General Management
Fiscal Management
Collaboration
Evaluation
Strategic Planning
Boards of Directors
Human Resources &
Supervision
Program Management

Community Programs

Community Organizing &
Social Justice
Youth & Family
Education
Housing
Health & Human Services
Crime Prevention
Arts & Culture

Fundraising

General Fundraising
Special Events
Grant writing
Funder References
For-profit Enterprises
Planned Giving

Work Skills & Professional Development

Office Management
Time Management
Computers & the
Internet
Career Development
Leadership
Money Management &
Entrepreneurship

Communications

Media Relations
Marketing
Presentation Skills

Go to top of page


Reference sources at PSU Library

Understanding Nonprofit Organizations: Governance, Leadership, and Management (2001) Ott, J. Steven. Boulder, CO: Westview Press. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N65 2001 PSU Reference

Mission-Based Management : Leading Your Not-For-Profit in the 21st Century (2000) Brinckerhoff, Peter C. Nonprofit Law, Finance and Management Series. New York: Wiley. Location: HD62.6 .B74 2000 PSU Shelves

The Nature of the Nonprofit Sector (2001) Ott, J. Steven ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N37 2001 PSU Reference

Inventing the Nonprofit Sector and Other Essays on Philanthropy, Voluntarism, and Nonprofit Organizations (1992) Hall, Peter Dobkin. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press. Location: HV91 .H263 1992 PSU Reserve

Charity, Philanthropy, and Civility in American History (2003) Friedman, Lawrence J. and McGarvie, Mark D. eds. New York: Cambridge University Press. Location: HV41 .C48 2003 PSU Reference

American Philanthropy, 2nd Edition (2004). Bremner, Robert H. The Chicago History of American Civilization, Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Managing the Non-Profit Organization: Practices and Principles (1992) Drucker, Peter F. New York, NY: HarperBusiness. Location: HD62.6 .D78 1990 PSU Reference

On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer (2002). Frumkin, Peter. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press. Location: HD2769.15 .F78 2002 PSU Reference

The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: The Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers (2002) Weitzman,Murray S. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. Location: HD2769.2 .U6 N47 2002 PSU Reference

Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations (1997) Pynes, Joan E. Jossey Bass Nonprofit & Public Management Series, San Francisco, Jossey-Bass Publishers. Location: HF5549.2 .U5 P96 1997 PSU Reference

Starting and Managing a Nonprofit Organization : A Legal Guide (2001) Hopkins, Bruce R. Wiley Nonprofit Law, Finance and Management Series Location: KF1388 .H66 2001 PSU Shelves

Go to top of page


Web Based Resources

General Nonprofit Resources | Boards | Fundraising | Government Information and Statistics | Jobs | News and Information | Program Evaluation | Technology and Communications | Volunteerism

General Nonprofit Resources

Alliance Resource Center - www.allianceonline.org/
ARC The website of The Alliance for Nonprofit Management, is dedicated to building and transferring knowledge related to nonprofit management and governance. The Alliance Resource Center's database is searchable in terms of 23 distinct nonprofit areas of management and results can be sorted in terms of websites and organizations, books, videos, newsletters, and educational programs. In addition to the resource, the site contains a Provider database enables searches for management support resources by topic and location, and an online newsletter, PULSE!, with archives.

The Center for Excellence in Nonprofits - www.cen.org
CEN focuses on developing best practices and knowledge management among nonprofit organizations. The site contains publication and articles, suggested readings, archives of newsletters, and information on the organization's programs.

Charity Village - www.charityvillage.ca
Canada's supersite for nonprofits provides helpful resources and news for nonprofits in general, those in the US and internationally based NGOs. Useful sections to be found under Resources include: library, research, online discussions, online resources, online publications, book reviews, venture philanthropy and FAQs.

DMOZ Open Directory Project - dmoz.org/Society/Organizations/Nonprofit_Resources
The Open Directory Project's goal is to produce the most comprehensive directory of the web, by relying on a vast army of volunteer editors who help the site grow as internet resources expand. Nonprofit resources are listed by categories. Most are annotated links by issue area. The limited content is more diverse than many similar sites.

The Foundation Center - foundationcenter.org/
The center of the online universe for information about funding and foundations. Includes the Literature of the Nonprofit Sector and many other resources.

Free Management Library - www.managementhelp.org/
The Free Management Library is a complete library of resources for nonprofit and for-profit organizations. The goal of the library is to provide leaders and managers (especially those with very limited resources) basic and practical information about business, management and organizations. Information is broken down into 72 popular categories and further subdivides into 657 topics. Information is highly integrated, easily searchable, and very practical.

Idealist.org- http://www.idealist.org
Idealist is a project of Action Without Borders, a nonprofit organization founded in 1995 with offices in the United States and Argentina. Idealist is an interactive site where people and organizations can exchange resources and ideas, locate opportunities and supporters, and take steps toward building a world where all people can lead free and dignified lives.

Independent Sector - www.independentsector.org
The site gives an overview of IS programs and includes sections on the basics of lobbying by charitable organizations, the executive summary of the IS 1999 survey on giving and volunteering a starter kit to help nonprofits with public relations efforts, a searchable publications catalog, news, and public policy resources.

Interactive Knowledge for Nonprofits Worldwide - www.iknow.org
Developed and maintained by Raffa & Associates, P.C., Interactive Knowledge for Nonprofits Worldwide (Iknow) is a collection of online resource links in the areas of business services, education, fringe benefits, fund-raising, governance, human resources, internet resources and technology, legal issues, legislation, strategic planning, and volunteerism.

Joseph and Matthew Payton Philanthropic Studies Library - www.ulib.iupui.edu/special/psl/
This is the online library site for the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) campus. The site offers a philanthropic studies index searchable by keywords, extensive nonprofit links organized by subject area, and a very useful reference self-help section. Except for the manuscripts and archives, the IUPUI collections are available to students through interlibrary loan.

The Learning Institute for Nonprofit Organizations - www.uwex.edu/li/learner/library.htm
A comprehensive educational program for nonprofit managers, boards and volunteers delivered
through satellite conferences, online learning or videotapes. Included on this website are the extensive library of free materials including articles, classroom items, tools and great links. Eight basic subject areas are covered in depth. These include: Strategic Planning, Resource Development, Board Governance, Marketing, Financial Management, Social Entrepreneurship, Volunteer Management, and Strategic Alliances.

National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy - www.ncrp.org
NCRP is dedicated to promoting philanthropy that addresses the unmet needs of disadvantaged populations, including very low-income communities, people of color, gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender populations, and other groups facing discrimination or marginalization. The site contains a catalog of the Committee's numerous publications, the majority of articles from their newsletter, Responsive Philanthropy, and offers information about NCRP's advocacy and projects.

The Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York - www.npccny.org/
The databank section of the site includes information on advocacy; lobbying; government/tax issues; financial matters; fundraising; governance and organizational issues; health; disability insurance; workers' compensation; organizational insurance; personnel management; postal issues; resources and NPCC events, projects & editorials.

Nonprofit Genie - www.compasspoint.org/askgenie/index.php
A resource of CompassPoint Nonprofit Services, this site, Global Electronic Nonprofit Information Express, includes weekly news, feature articles, the board caf%uFFFD newsletter, FAQs, links and publications. list of answers to frequently asked questions developed by the staff and sorted by management area. Also available: reviews of publications, extensive links, and free bi-weekly newsletter.

Nonprofit Nuts & Bolts - www.nutsbolts.com
Site contains reports, articles, free resources, and an extensive nonprofit resource center that includes links to online publications, directories of nonprofits, listservs and discussion groups, and service providers.

Nonprofit Risk Management Center - www.nonprofitrisk.org
Information and resources to help nonprofit staff and volunteers control risks. Site includes accessible newsletter archives, information about available publications, trainings, and consulting, and risk management links.

Boards

Board Cafe - www.compasspoint.org/boardcafe/index.php
A free electronic newsletter for members of nonprofit boards of directors published by CompassPoint in San Francisco. Back issues and instructions for subscribing to the newsletter can be found on the web site.

BoardSource - www.boardsource.org/
NCNB provides resources, programs, and services to the nonprofit community to help them strengthen their boards. Site contains information on NCNB's publications, membership, training, education, and board resources, including NCNB's large archived of FAQs on board roles and responsibilities.

Carver Governance.com - www.carvergovernance.com
John Carver's site on the Policy Governance Model for nonprofit boards. Includes explanations of the model, reprints of articles, publications, discussion forums, and services.

Free Toolkit for Boards of Directors - www.managementhelp.org/boards/boards.htm
A large collection of helpful tools maintained by Dr. Carter McNamara at the Management Assistance Program for Nonprofits, St. Paul, MN.

Fundraising

Association for Fundraising Professionals - www.nsfre.org
Formerly the National Association for Fund Raising Executives, the AFP's website contains sections on public policy, ethics, and publications as well as an extensive resource center. (In the future the domain name may change to reflect the organization's name change effective on 1/1/01.)

Fund-Raising.com - www.fundraising.com
This site provides nonprofits with information about creative ways to generate contributions. Resources include links to products and service, innovative fundraising ideas, and suggested books.

Government

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance - www.cfda.gov
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and non-financial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government. The site features catalog highlights, types of assistance, application information, proposal writing guidance, and a list of programs as well as a searchable database of assistance programs.

Federal Government Resources on the Web - www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/federal.html
Housed by the University of Michigan Documents Center, this site is a major portal for government information. Over 100 topics are listed in the main index and related resources links.

Federal Register - www.archives.gov/federal_register/index.html
The no-frills Federal Register site provides access to federal regulations, public laws, and presidential documents. Visitors to the site can search the web pages and databases within the site and search help and tools are available.

IRS Tax Statistics - www.irs.ustreas.gov/taxstats/index.html
Users can download information on exempt organizations, foundations, charitable trusts, and products and services including statistics of income for organizations.

Nonprofit Gateway - www.usa.gov/Business/Nonprofit.shtml
Links to government agency homepages for information on grants and non-financial support. Sections include: Department/Agency gateways, Directory of Federal Government, Information services and links, and nonprofit resources.

OMB Watch - www.ombwatch.org
As the name implies, OMB Watch monitors governmental processes at the Office of Management and Budget. The organization focuses on five main areas: Budget and government performance issues; Regulatory and government accountability; Information for democracy and community; Nonprofit advocacy and other cross-cutting nonprofit issues; and Nonprofit policy and technology. The comprehensive Nonprofit Issues section presents news and analysis on issues affecting nonprofits. An online newsletter, OMBWatcher is available.

Information & Statistics

GuideStar - www.guidestar.org
GuideStar's mission is to promote philanthropy by helping donors, institutional funders, and charities become more informed, effective, and efficient. Site contains GuideStar's searchable database of more than 700,000 U.S. nonprofit organizations, donor resources, news and information.

The National Center for Charitable Statistics - nccs.urban.org
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society. The site provides access to information derived primarily from data supplied by tax-exempt nonprofit organizations to the Internal Revenue Service.

Jobs

Idealist - www.idealist.org
Searchable database of nonprofit organizations, jobs, volunteer opportunities, programs, and internships around the world. Visitors can review career resources, news, and subscribe to a free job e-mail list, and nonprofits can register and post job openings at no charge.

Opportunity NOCs - www.opportunitynocs.org
The Web's leading source of nonprofit job listings for administrative, staff and professional positions, with an estimated half million hits per month. Search for a nonprofit sector job, post a job, find career resources in the library, or subscribe to a monthly e-mail newsletter.

News and Information

Chronicle of Philanthropy - www.philanthropy.com
The Chronicle is a widely-read resource for all sectors of the nonprofit arena. The site contains much more than news, although access to the majority of content is restricted to subscribers. Check with the library for electronic access.

Nonprofit Online News - news.gilbert.org
Daily news for the nonprofit online community. Weekly news available free by email subscription. Current news with links for more in depth information. Index of news features.

NonProfit Times - www.nptimes.com
NPT is a monthly newspaper dedicated to current issues in the nonprofit sector. The site includes searchable archives, access to special reports, and a well developed resource directory. NPTimes has two alternative versions: Direct Marketing Edition and Financial Management Edition.

Philanthropy News Digest - foundationcenter.org/pnd/
PND contains abstracts of news, surveys and reports, and other items related the world of philanthropy. offers a comprehensive weekly update on philanthropic news that is also available for free via email. The site contains searchable archives.

Philanthropy News Network - pnnonline.org
The online version of the Philanthropy Journal of North Carolina is a comprehensive source of nonprofit news. Articles are divided into sections on corporate giving, education, foundations, fundraising, giving, innovations, law taxes & money, people, technology, and volunteers. The site also includes general information, job listings and links.

Program Evaluation

InnoNet - www.innonet.org
Innovation Network, Inc. (InnoNet) is dedicated to building evaluation knowledge and skills, enhancing capacity to improve and learn through the use of participatory evaluation, and helping organizations embrace, celebrate, and implement change. The site features an evaluation resources, a glossary, downloadable publications, a bibliography, and links.

United Way Outcome Measurement Resources - national.unitedway.org/outcomes/
The Outcome Measurement Resource Network's purpose is to provide outcome measurement resources and instruction. Sections include: United Way Resources, publications, current initiatives and activities, an outcome measurement resource library, and links.

Technology & Communications

CompuMentor - www.compumentor.org
CompuMentor provides person-to-person services, low-cost software and online resources to nonprofits and schools. The site provides information on CompuMentor's affordable software redistribution program and consulting services. The site contains information on computer basics, databases, networks, hardware recycling, volunteers and websites.

Coyote Communications - www.coyotecom.com
Coyote Communications is a consulting service for nonprofit and public sector organizations that specializes in online and offline communications services. The site provides a number of Technology Tip Sheets on databases & software, internet outreach, community relations, and web development and maintenance.

LINC Project - www.lincproject.org
The LINC (Low Income Networking and Communications) Project is a site dedicated to fostering connections, cooperation, and information exchange between grassroots organizations working for the benefit of low-income people. The site includes a directory of low-income organizations in the U.S., an organizers' online toolkit, events calendar, links to online newsletters and news. Could also be in advocacy.

MediaNet - www.internetnewsbureau.com/medianet/
An online tutorial to help nonprofits manage the traditional and online media campaigns. Sections include Ways to woo the media, Promoting your website, and great links to online media resources.

Network for Good - www.networkforgood.org/npo/
Site provides tools and resources for helping your nonprofit make the most of the internet. Primary sections include: day to day operations, getting the help you need, working the web, learning from others, and links. The site also provides online resource to help people find volunteer and giving opportunities in their local communities and beyond.

Npower - www.npower.org
NPower's mission is helping other non-profits use technology to better serve their communities. The site features an extensive resource library including technology tools, tech planning, tech training, how to's, fundraising for technology, technology volunteers. The NpowerLine newsletter is archived and available for download. Newly added, the Tech Surveyor, is an extensive online technology assessment for nonprofit organizations.

Techsoup - www.techsoup.org
TechSoup.org offers nonprofits a one-stop, ultra- comprehensive portal to learn and obtain help with technology issues. Categories include: nonprofit discounts on technology, tech planning, using the web, software reviews, a community networking center, and tools for technical support. A free, monthly publication, By the Cup offers links and stories related to nonprofit technology, feature articles written by specialists, answers to frequently asked questions, and links to recommended resources.

Volunteerism

The Nonprofit Matrix - www.nonprofitmatrix.com/
The Nonprofit Matrix is an online directory and guide to selecting and integrating dot-coms (commercial service providers of components such as online donation processing, charity auctions, affinity shopping and more) into a nonprofit organization's web and internet strategies. Includes some user reviews of services.

Service Leader's Virtual Volunteering Project - www.serviceleader.org/new/virtual/
The Virtual Volunteering Project works to encourage and assist in the development of volunteer activities that can be completed via the Internet. The site provides resources and information on virtual volunteerism and a monthly electronic newsletter on virtual volunteering called Virtual Verve.

Veritas Information Services - www.veritasinfo.com/
Veritas Information Services provides sophisticated research services to non-profit organizations to assist in fundraising. Information and links provided on corporate giving programs, demographics, donor listings, foundations, government funding, and prospect research sites.

Volunteer Match - www.volunteermatch.org
Created by Impact Online, this site utilizes the power of the Internet to help individuals nationwide find in person and "virtual" volunteer opportunities posted by local nonprofit and public sector organizations. Visitors can search the opportunities database according to distance from home, time of event, duration of commitment, and category of organization.

Go to top of page





Videos


Urban Studies and Planning in action.

This is part 1 of a nine part series, if you find the first lecture intriguing, search for the rest.

OR, maybe you are more interested in this project, done by a MURP student at Michigan in 2006:

 





Web Resources


Greater Portland : urban life and landscape in the Pacific Northwest
F884 .P85 A23 2001 | Basement

Newsletter / 1000 Friends of Oregon
HD211.O7 O5a | Basement

The Portland edge : challenges and successes in growing communities
HT394.P8 P67 2004 | 2nd Floor Reference
**Edited book with contributions by PSU Urban Studies Faculty

Re-presenting the post-industrial neighborhood : planning and redevelopment in Portland's Pearl District
LD4349 .A86 1999.J66 | 3rd Floor

Metro
"Metro protects open space and parks, plans for land use and transportation, and manages garbage disposal and recycling for 1.3 million residents in three counties and 25 cities in the Portland, Oregon region."

Neighborhood Notes.  

"Neighborhood Notes publishes community-focused news, commentary and events. Whether it's what's happening on your block, your neighborhood or the entire city—Neighborhood Notes serves up Portland how you like it."

Portland State University Campus Maps/Building Floor Plans
Maintained by PSU Architectural, Engineering and Construction Services, this resource provides general campus maps, university district maps, and detailed individual building maps. Pages dedicated to each building include floor area calculations, building schematics, and information about wheelchair accessibility.

Oregon Sustainable Community Digital Library (OSCDL)
Provides a central online repository for the collection, accession, and dissemination of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area.

City of Portland Sites

Office of Sustainable Development
A comprehensive site providing Portland-area sustainability resources.

PortlandMaps.com
Includes aerial photography and zoning maps for the Portland Metropolitan area. Find local census data, assessor/tax lot information, crime data, elevation, parks, mass transit, schools, urban growth boundary, water/sewer information.

Portland Parks & Recreation
Site includes city planning information specific to Portland.

Portland Transportation
City of Portland Office of Transportation site includes policies, regulations, studies, plans, reports, and information about future projects.

City of Portland Archives and Records Management Search the database for key documents located in the archives.  The archives will be locating to the Portland State University Campus in 2010.

Local County Resources (Oregon)

Clackamas County Department of Transportation & Planning
Provides information about long-range planning for the county, as well as various projects and studies being conducted.

Multnomah County Library - Maps/GIS
This county library site provides an extensive list of links related to local resources, GIS, and maps.

Washington County Land Use and Transportation
Provides information on long-range, capital improvement, and immediate traffice concerns.

State Resources

Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development
Provides information about the state's Transportation and Growth Management Program, and includes state-wide planning goals.

Oregon Sustainability Resource
"The Sustainable Oregon website, inspired by the Sustainability Executive Order of 2000, is a project of the Oregon Economic & Community Development Department with support from the Governor's Office, the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, Ecotrust, and Sustainable Northwest." A searchable website that includes topics such as general sustainability, land use planning, land management and transportation. Also provides specific case study examples.

Additional Web Resources

American Planning Association (APA)
"APA is a nonprofit public interest and research organization committed to urban, suburban, regional, and rural planning." The APA also offers a web bibliography of core readings called The Planners Bibliography.

Cyburbia: The urban planning portal
Established in 1994 at the University of Buffalo, this site contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism.

Urban Land Institute
The Urban Land Institute (ULI)is an international non-profit organization that promotes best practices in land use and the real estate industry.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
Comprehensive government site that includes information about housing, community grants, community information organized by state, consumer information, among other topics.

Planetizen: The Planning and Development Network
Planetizen is a public-interest information exchange provided by Urban Insight for the urban planning, design, and development community.

The International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP) is a global association of experienced professional planners. It was founded in 1965 in a bid to bring together recognised and highly-qualified planners in an international network. The ISOCARP network brings together individual and institutional members from more than 80 countries worldwide.

 

Joint Center for Housing Studies 

The Joint Center for Housing Studies is Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. The Joint Center analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends.

KnowledgePlex 

The affordable housing and community development resource for professionals.

H-Urban

is a moderated, multi-disciplinary forum for discussion and dissemination of scholarship on urban history and urban studies. As a member of H-NET (Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine), H-Urban has no geographical or chronological boundaries. Thus, we welcome the involvement of scholars, professionals, and graduate students who are interested in urban places and processes across the globe and in all eras.

Urban Institute

The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

Transport Research Knowledge Centre

Research is essential if Europe is to develop efficient, sustainable and user-friendly transport systems. Transport practitioners and policy-makers alike require a solid research basis to come to decisions. Making this research widely available - across borders and across sectors - can help speed up decisions and ensure they are taken on as wide a basis as possible. It can cut the time required to turn research into actual market applications.

Earth Trends 

Much of the environmental information on the internet is fragmented, buried, or only available at a price. EarthTrends gathers data from the world’s leading statistical agencies, along with WRI-generated maps and analyses, into a single database for rapid searching and retrieving. To facilitate the comparison of data from different sources, EarthTrends supplements its content with detailed metadata that reports on research methodologies and evaluates the information’s reliability. All of these resources are made available to the public at no charge.

Ecosustainable Hub

To make an active contribution towards the improvement of the quality of life for ourselves and future generations, facilitating co-operation, networking, ethical practices and developments. "Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs." (Brundtland commission)

Sustainable Cities Research Institute 

Committed to developing effective, integrated and interdisciplinary approaches to urban sustainability and urban regeneration through high quality research, publications and the public dissemination of knowledge.

United Nations Human Settlements Programme

The United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-HABITAT, is the United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.





Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter